Skip to topic | Skip to bottom
Home
LCGatUSC
LCGatUSC.HowToCloseASiter1.2 - 30 Apr 2006 - 13:49 - JuanJSaboridotopic end

Start of topic | Skip to actions
-- JuanJSaborido - 22 Feb 2006

How to close an LCG site.

If you want to stop the RB from sending you jobs (for example as you want to do some update on your CE), an atribute exists in the ldif Schema which is consulted by the RB to check the availability of your site. This page explains how to publish a closed status on your farm. It's about the information system.

The right place:

The attributes GlueCEStateStaus can take some values for which the RB will look. These attributes may be :

  • Queueing: the queue can accept job submission, but can't be served by the scheduler
  • Production: the queue can accept job submissions and is served by a scheduler
  • Closed: The queue can't accept job submission and can't be served by a scheduler
  • Draining: the queue can't accept job submission, but can be served by a scheduler

This attribute is published under the dn: GlueCEUniqueId=hostname... And such a dn exists for each queue.

Now we are going to change the value of this attribute.

Changes:

You'll have to edit the /opt/lcg/var/gip/lcg-info-generic.conf Find the line whith the right dn. If it doesn't allready exist, add the line :

GlueCEStateStatus: Closed for closing your site

else, you'll only have to change the value of this attribute. Be carefull to remove any space at the end of the line. Do this for each queue you have to change. You should find a dn for each of these queues.

Taking the changes:

The command: /opt/lcg/sbin/lcg-info-generic-config /opt/lcg/var/gip/lcg-info-generic.conf should do it.

Don't forget that, if you're using a BDII as GIIS, you have to wait until the BDII refreshes itself or refresh it manually.

If you want to remove the closed status of your site, simply remove the line you added or change the value at will.

Some more interesting info:

Read from https://grid-it.cnaf.infn.it/support/index.php?t=kbase&only_kb=yes&act=kans&id=58

How can I close my site to grid jobs?

If you reset the status of the PBS queue using pbs qmgr commands, this will be picked up by MDS and no jobs will be submitted to your queue:

qmgr -c 'set queue QUEUE enabled=false' qmgr -c 'set queue QUEUE started=false'

(repeat the command for each queue is available to the grid and replace QUEUE with the corresponding name). The Information Providers will pick up this information and automatically start reporting

GlueCEStateStatus?: Closed

for the queue. Jobs will then stop being assigned to the queue by the RB. Allow the queue to drain of jobs and make whatever configuration changes you need. Then, when you are happy the system is operational:

qmgr -c 'set queue QUEUE enabled=true' qmgr -c 'set queue QUEUE started=true'

The Information Providers will then return the status to the Information System:

GlueCEStateStatus?: Production

and it will magically spring back into the list of queues available for jobs from the RB.
to top


You are here: LCGatUSC > HowToCloseASite

to top

Copyright © 1999-2017 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding this material Send feedback